Interacting with files

Your ability to interact with files in the file library depends on your permissions. Certain actions can be performed by any user with general access, while others require specific permissions. To perform these actions, you need the necessary permissions and the file needs to be located in either the My files section or a page or community of which you are an admin.

Interact with files and folders

These are the available actions:

  • Download: You can download a file or folder to your device. Downloading a folder downloads a .zip of the files. All users who can access a library can download its files.
  • Rename: You can rename a file or folder that you own or manage. This includes files in the My files section or a page or community you're an admin of. Additionally, you need the "Manage and delete files in documents" permission.
  • Upload new version: You can upload a new version of a file you own or manage. This includes files in the My files section or a page or community you're an admin of. Additionally, you need the "Manage and delete files in documents" permission.
    • Uploading new versions allows you to keep the file library clean and accessible by not having to create an entirely new record for a file that already exists in the file library.
    • Older versions are still accessible in the History, which allows you to restore an old version if needed. 
  • Share file: You can create and share a public link leading to a file you own or manage. This includes files in the My files section or a page or community you're an admin of. The link can be shared with people inside and outside your company. Accessing the link will automatically download the file to their device, even if you're not logged into the platform.
    • A file with an active share link displays the message "Active share link".
      A shared link can be completely deactivated or recreated to create a new link while deactivating the old one.
    • You need the "Manage and create public links for files in documents" permission.
  • Copy link: You can copy an internal link to the file or folder. Accessing the file or folder using the link requires that the user is logged into the platform and has access to the place where the file is stored. 
  • Delete: You can delete a file or folder that you own or manage. This includes files in the My files section or a page or community you're an admin of. Additionally, you require "Manage and delete files in documents" permission. Deleting a folder also deletes all files in it.
  • Print: You can print PDF files from the Details view. All users with file library access can print a PDF file.
  • Show in documents: From the Details view, you can open the file location in the file library. This allows you to find the file in the file library to interact with it further.
  • Details: In the Details, you can view a preview of the file if it is in a supported format. Additionally, you can view basic information on the file and take some of the actions listed above.
    • Information: You can see the file size, format, origin (where the file is located), last modified date, and description. If you have permission to like and comment, you can also like and comment on files in this view.
    • History: You can see the history of the file, meaning when it was first uploaded and any subsequent new versions. From here, you can also download a specific version, upload a new one, or restore an old one.

File interactions, admin view.png

Interacting with a file as a page admin of the page the file is located in. The user also has additional permissions to create public links and manage files.

 

File interactions, user view.png

Interacting with a file as a user who doesn't manage the page it is located in. The user only has general access to the file.

Was this article helpful?