Understanding the Notification bell

Notifications are located in the Subscribe icon in the navigation. You can see the number of unread notifications directly on the icon. The notifications are shown in chronological order.

You can mark a notification:

  • Read: Select theMark as readicon next to the notification or Mark all as read at the bottom of the notification box to mark it read.
  • Unread: Select theMark as unreadicon next to the notification to mark it unread
  • Subscribed: Select theSubscribeicon next to the notification to subscribe to more notifications on the content
  • Unsubscribed: Select theUnsubscribeicon next to the notification to unsubscribe from more notifications on the content

A notification is retained even if a post is deleted. A user sees an error when attempting to view a deleted post from the notification bell.

Notifications older than 30 days are automatically deleted from the notification bell and can no longer be found.

Discussion tab

You receive notifications in the Discussion tab when you are directly involved with or subscribed to content that someone interacts with. This includes:

  • New comments on content you're subscribed to
  • Someone mentions you directly

Subscriptions tab

You receive notifications in the Subscriptions tab when, e.g., users post content in pages and communities you subscribe to/are a member of, and you have subscribed to receive notifications for an affected element.

Effected element

Notifications

Notes

Follows

  • You reach a defined number of followers (see notes)

You will receive a notification once you reach a specific number of followers, which is considered a milestone.

  • 25 followers

  • 100 followers

  • 200 followers

  • 500 followers

Tasks app

  • You are assigned or unassigned a task 

  • An assigned task is due today

 

Blog app

  • A new article is published

Only one notification is triggered for a blog post (if desired) when it's published. A subsequent change to a post does not lead to another notification being sent to all users.

Documents app

  • A file is uploaded or updated

Only sends if notifications for a documents app are enabled.

Form app

  • A submission is created

Only sends if notifications for a form app are enabled.

Forum app

  • A new thread is created

 

List app

  • A new entry is made

Only sends if notifications for a list app are enabled.

Wiki app

  • A new article is added

  • A reminder to review the article (for admins and the author, if a review reminder has been set for the article)

If you subscribe to a wiki article, you'll also get notified when there's a new comment or the article is updated

Events

  • Invitation to a private event 

  • An event that you are participating in is canceled

  • An event that you are participating in has been changed

  • Someone accepts an event for which you're the organizer

  • All of the places are taken for an event for which you're the organizer 

  • All of the places are taken for an event and your response is still outstanding or you've responded with Maybe

 

Hashtags

Notifications are triggered when a hashtag you're subscribed to is used in the: 

  • Name, content, or teaser of a blog
  • Name or content of a wiki article
  • Content of a timeline post
  • Description of a file  
 

Reported content

  • A post is reported

Only if you have permission to manage reported posts

Community

  • Your request to join a community has been accepted

  • Your request to join a community has been rejected

  • Request from a user to access a community for which you're the admin

  • A defined number of users have joined a community you're in (see note)

  • You've been invited to become the admin of a community

  • You've been removed from a community

You will receive a notification once a community you're in reaches a specific number of members, which is considered a milestone.

  • 25 members
  • 50 members
  • 100 members
  • 200 members
  • 500 members

Studio

  • New content waiting for approval (when the user is selected as an approver)

  • The approver of your post approved it, and it will/can be published

  • The approver of your post rejected it

Only users with Studio access receive these notifications.

Was this article helpful?