Managing local users

You can create, edit, deactivate, or delete local users. You need the "Manage users, groups and roles" permission to manage users.

Create a user

  1. Go to Administration > User Management > Users
  2. Select Create user 
  3. Fill out the mandatory fields: first and last name and email address.
  4. Check Activate this user. If left unchecked, the user won't be able to access until they are activated. You also won't see the user in the user management unless you filter by Show inactive or Show All.
  5. We recommend selecting to send a welcome email and generate a password for the user. If you don't generate a password for the email, you need to manually enter a password for the user. A welcome email can only be sent when creating the user, not later.
  6. Alternatively, you can select a group and role for your user. If you have activated a default role, each new user is automatically assigned this role, as it defines the minimum permissions for your users.
  7. Under the Advanced tab, you can specify:
    • Alternate login name: Allow users to log in with a login name other than their full email address. You can, for example, assign unique abbreviations to each user.
    • Displayname: Determine how your user's name displays to other users. The user's first and last name are used if nothing is entered. You can, for example, display a doctor's title in the name
    • The fields for Remote user directory and Remote user ID are relevant if you want to connect local users to a user directory.
  8. When you're ready to create the user, select Save

Edit a user

  1. Go to Administration > User Management > Users
  2. Find the user you want to edit
  3. Select Edit from the three dots on the right
  4. Customize any of the fields mentioned above. A new field is visible when editing:
    • URL / Mentions: Change the user's mention handle. This is automatically set as first name-last name. Changing it will cause existing links and mentions in content to stop working. The user profile widget isn't affected by this.
  5. Select Save to apply the changes

Delete or deactivate a user

  1. Go to Administration > User Management > Users
  2. Find the user you want to delete
  3. Select Delete or Deactivate from the three dots on the right

If a user is deleted or deactivated, they will no longer have access to your platform. You can read more about the different statuses in Understanding account statuses.

You can filter by Show inactive or Show deleted to see deactivated/deleted users in the user management.

Was this article helpful?