You can share various types of content, such as timeline posts, blog articles, events, etc., with other users, pages, or communities in Haiilo. This is useful if you want to draw attention to something important. The "Share content on timeline" permission is required for users to be able to share content.
Visibility of shared content
Shared content is visible on the page, community, and user's timeline.
- If you share content with a page or a community, it will reach everyone who is a subscriber/member of that page or community. Every subscriber/member will see the shared content on the page/community timeline or on the timeline of their homepage.
- If you share content with a user, it will be displayed on the user's personal timeline, i.e., within their profile on the Activity tab and on the timeline of their homepage. Additionally, the shared content is also visible on the sharer's personal timeline.
Comments or likes on a shared wiki or blog article are aggregated directly under the original post, not under your share. This way, the reactions are also permanently linked to the post and can still be accessed and viewed by others at a later time.
Share private content
Sharing protected or private content makes it public. You can share content from a private element (for example, a private community) to a public area. A shared post from a protected community or private page is always visible as a teaser to all subscribers of the sharing parties.
Depending on which app within the protected community or page the post is shared from, there are minimal differences in the post visibility. The optional message that can be added when sharing a post is visible in all areas.
- Timeline post: The entire post and comments become publicly visible.
- Blog post: The teaser of the blog post with title, teaser text, image, and comments is publicly visible. However, the blog post itself isn't visible. The Read more function is disabled.
If the status of a blog post is reset from Published to Draft, all shares are also removed from the timeline.
- Wiki article: The title of the wiki article becomes publicly visible. However, the wiki article itself isn't visible. The Read more function is disabled.
- Public event: The event name, description, and all other content are visible to the public. The event can be clicked on by all users.
- Private event: All information except the event picture will be visible. The event cannot be clicked on.
- Non-shareable app posts: Files, documents, forms, forum posts, lists, and tasks.
Users who are not members of a protected community, private page, or invited as participants in private events will not have access to the original post. If the users without access rights select the teaser, they will see a message saying they aren't allowed to view the post.
- Find the content that you want to share.
- Under the post, select Share for a popup window to open.
- Choose users, pages, or communities you want to share the post with. You can select multiple options.
- Add a message to appear above the original post. The message is fixed and cannot be edited later.
- Under Extended options:
- Share as: Choose to share in your name or the name of a page or a community (provided you have permission).
- Sticky period: Choose if you want to mark a post as sticky when you share the content to a community, page, or event. You cannot use the sticky feature if you share the post to a user's personal timeline.
Delete shared content
You can delete a share if you shared it or manage the page or community it was shared from or on.
- Select the number of shares under a shared post
- Select the three dots > Delete
Shares are also deleted if the original content that was shared is deleted.