Haiilo offers a chat feature in case your users want to communicate with each other privately or in a group.
To use the chat, a user needs to have the "Write and receive messages" permission. Once this is enabled, users can access the chat both on their browser and in the mobile app.
If you don't see the chat in your platform after logging in, then this function is currently not enabled for you. In this case, please contact your administration team for assistance.
Start a chat with a person or a group
To start a chat, first click on the write icon in the channels section on the right side.
You can either select another user for a private chat or create a group channel and exchange with multiple users.
Alternatively, you can go to the user profile of the colleague you want to write to. There you will find the "Message" button at the top, which you can use to open a new chat with the user.
For a group channel, the user who initially creates this chat is automatically the admin. As the admin of the chat, you have the option to customize the chat. Click on "Edit" in the group channel and then you can change the name of the group channel, add new users or remove current users.
If the assigned admin leaves the group, all members are automatically promoted to admin. And if all members have left the group chat, there is no way to restore it.
Mute a chat
You can also mute chats. This means that you will no longer receive notifications about new messages. To do this, simply open the corresponding chat and select the "Mute" option via the three menu items.
The icon in front of the name of the chat user or the name of the group channel shows you that this chat has been muted. You can also undo the mute via the three-point menu.
Archive a chat or delete a message
An entire chat cannot be deleted by a user. A user can archive private chats so that they are no longer displayed in the overview. However, the chat history remains with the other chat user. If the other user writes to the user again, the chat and its history will reappear in their overview list.
In addition, a user can delete individual chat messages in the mobile app. These messages are then deleted both in the mobile app and web interface.
You can automatically archive channels and delete old messages from Administration > System settings > Messaging. If you activate Automatically archive channels or Automatically remove old private messages, you can specify the number of hours after which a channel is archived or a message deleted.
When you delete old messages, the messages and any transferred files will be completely deleted from the database.
Under Advanced settings, you can also decide when the job for archiving channels or deleting messages should be executed. You have to define the time via cron. Using a cron, you can automate the time-based execution of processes in Unix and Unix-like operating systems such as Linux, BSD, or macOS and thus also set finer increments than hours. By default, the cron 0 0 * * * * is defined in the Haiilo platform. With these settings, the job runs daily at 00:00 Universal Time Coordinated (UTC).