Here is an explanation of the difference between Private and Public channels:
- Public channels are visible to all in the channel list in Haiilo. This means that any user in your company domain can find and subscribe to the channel and thus see its published content.
- Private channels, on the other hand, can only be seen by users invited to join the channel. Users without an invite to the channel cannot find the channel in their channel list and, therefore, cannot subscribe to it and see content from that channel. Private channels enable you to create an environment containing only information for certain users or teams.
You can distinguish a Public channel from a Private one in your channel list from the icon next to the channel name. A Public channel has a hashtag icon, whereas a Private channel has a lock icon.
You can choose the visibility of your channel while you are creating it. However, please note the following:
If a channel is set to Private during channel creation and no Channel Manager is assigned to it at the time of creation, the person who creates the channel will automatically become the Channel Manager for it.
- However, if an Admin assigns a Channel Manager to the Private channel while they are creating it but do not add themselves as a Channel Manager as well, the channel will not be visible to the Admin who created it when they click Create. Only the Channel Manager that was added during creation will see the channel.
- A Private channel is also hidden from Company Admins unless they add themselves as Channel Managers during creation or are invited to join later by the Channel Manager they set for the channel.
- A Public channel that has already been created can be edited to change the visibility to Private, BUT a Private channel cannot be edited and changed to Public.
- If you set a Private channel as Essential or Default, users will be auto-subscribed to it.