Approving and rejecting Studio posts

Post creators without publishing permission in the Studio need their posts to be approved or rejected by users with publishing permission. Publishing permission is determined by the "Publish posts" permission.

Post creators select an approver for their post when it is ready to be reviewed. If you're selected as an approver, you receive a notification.

The post creator can, at any point during the approval process, withdraw the post to make additional changes to it. If a post you are reviewing is withdrawn, you can't approve or reject it anymore.

Approve a post

  1. Select the notification to open the post in the Studio, or find it from Dashboard > Tasks for today > Needs my approval. If there are posts waiting for approval where the defined scheduled date has passed, these will be shown in the Overdue tab.
  2. As an approver, you can view the post's content and settings but cannot modify them.
  3. To approve a post, select Approve in the editor toolbar

Once a post is approved, the post creator receives a notification. They can also find the post in Dashboard > Tasks for today > Ready for publishing. If the post was scheduled before requesting approval, it can be found in Dashboard > My work > Scheduled instead.

An approved post is ready to be published. Learn more in Publishing Studio posts.

Reject a post

  1. Select the notification to open the post in the Studio, or find it from Dashboard > Tasks for today > Needs my approval. If there are posts waiting for approval where the defined scheduled date has passed, these will be shown in the Overdue tab.
  2. As an approver, you can view the post's content and settings but cannot modify them.
    • If you want changes made to the post, you can comment on the post before rejecting it to instruct the user about the changes they need to make before resubmitting it for approval.
  3. To approve a post, select Reject in the editor toolbar

Once a post is rejected, the post creator receives a notification. They can also find the post in Dashboard > My work > Needs rework. A rejected post can be resubmitted for approval.

Comment on a post

When reviewing a post, you have the option to leave comments that the post creator can see after you approve or reject their post. Comments remain visible on the post in the editor after it's published.

Commenting can be useful if you plan to reject the post, so you can explain to the post creator why it was rejected and suggest any changes they can make before resubmitting it for approval.

  1. Highlight a piece of content, e.g., a sentence
  2. Select the comment icon that pops up or in the editor toolbar
  3. Enter your comment
  4. Select the checkmark icon to add your comment

You can also reply to others' comments by selecting the original comment followed by Reply...

admin reviewing a studio post and leaving a comment.png

Was this article helpful?